Badulla

  • 404

Ranthegod - Wikemedia

Badulla is in the main district of Uva Province, it is also the last railway station of the Main Line. Badulla consists of many amazing waterfalls, camping and hiking grounds and ancient attractions.

Ancient attractions in Badulla

Badulla has been an important area from ancient times, it is believed that Buddha visited the area twice during his first and third visits to Sri Lanka. Apart from the religious attractions, the Sorabora Wewa which was built during the 2nd-century BC stands out for its unique sluice gate.

Bogoda Raja Maha Viharaya is known for its amazing wooden bridge built across Gallanda Oya.

A stupa originally built by God Saman, and later during the 6th-century BC an Arhat thero named Sarabhu brought Buddha's larynx relic which was also enshrined in the stupa.

Built in the 17th-century Kataragama Devalaya is a shrine dedicated to Kataragama Deviyo.

Dowa Rock temple is known for its half finished Buddha statue built in the Anuradhapura Era by King Vatta Gamini Abhaya.

The only ancient water reservoir in Sri Lanka built without a “Biso Kotuwa”. Sorabora Wewa is a massive ancient water reservoir built in the 2nd-century BC by a giant named Bulatha, and known for its unique stone cut sluice gate.

A stupa originally built by God Saman, and later during the 6th-century BC an Arhat thero named Sarabhu brought Buddha's larynx relic which was also enshrined in the stupa.

An ancient forest monastery used by Arhat Maliyadeva thero during the reign of King Vatta Gamini Abhaya.

A cave temple built in the 2nd-century BC by King Vatta Gamini Abhaya.

Colonial attractions in Badulla

During the Colonial period Badulla has been identified as one of the best areas for tea plantations. Many pioneer tea planters including Sir Thomas Lipton invested in the nearby cities, Ella, Bandarawela, Poonagala and left numerous colonial attractions.

A colonial country house built in 1931 and transformed into a Catholic monastery.

The largest tea factory in Sri Lanka, built in the 1890 by Sir Thomas Lipton and now owned by Lankem.

A popular hangout spot among locals, and a location for wedding photography.

logo